Zeitner Strikes at US 30

Zeitner Strikes at US 30

The stars and cars of the Malvern Bank SLMR Series rolled into Columbus, Nebraska and the US 30 Speedway on July 4th for the $2,000 to-win Stars and Stripes Shootout. 27 cars were on hand for round number 9 of the season.

Early in the night Series regulars Corey Zeitner, Kyle Berck, Ben Schaller, and Bill Leighton Jr kicked things off by winning their heat races. The B-Features were won by Rece Vaught and Ben Sukup.

Curt Schroeder and Andrew Kosiski led the way to the green flag. Schroeder showed the way while Andrew Kosiski and Corey Zeitner went at it for the second spot. Zeitner would quickly slip by the 53 and begin working on Schroeder for the lead. Zeitner took advantage of a bad corner by Schroeder to rocket his Longhorn Chassis into the lead. Zeitner opened the door and brought Kosiski with him as the 15c dropped to third. CZ and AK slowly began pulling away. While the two leaders pulled away Schroeder and Ben Schaller battled for third, Schroeder firmly holding him off at the time. Kosiski started reeling in Zeitner as the two began working lap traffic, at one point the 53 and 19 were door to door before the first yellow flag of the race flew as Andy Claiborne went for a spin in the entrance of turn 1.

This set up a 5-lap shootout, Corey Zeitner, Andrew Kosiski, Curt Schroeder, Ben Schaller, and Tad Pospisil being the top 5 on the restart. Zeitner brought the field back to green and quickly set his sights on his first win of the season with the MBSLMR Series. Ben Schaller nabbed the third spot from Curt Schroeder on the restart. As the checkered flag and fireworks flew it was Omaha, Nebraska’s Corey Zeitner taking home the $2,000 payday, out running Andrew Kosiski to the finish line, Ben Schaller came home third, Curt Schroeder with a career best Series finish in fourth, and Tad Pospisil rounded out the top 5.



Speedway Motors Heat Race #1: 1. Corey Zeitner, 2. Tad Pospisil, 3. Nick Deal, 4. Brian Kosiski, 5. Rece Vaught, 6. Robert Osborne, 7. Andy Claiborne

Keyser Manufacturing Heat Race #2: 1. Kyle Berck, 2. Andrew Kosiski, 3. Paul Conrad, 4. Jason Wallace, 5. Jim Johnson, 6. Ben Sukup, 7. Albert Sack

Roth Racing Heat Race #3: 1. Ben Schaller, 2. Curt Schroeder, 3. Robbie Andersen, 4. Jason O’Brien, 5. Chase Osborne, 6. Matt Snoberger

Kosiski Auto Parts Heat Race #4: 1. Bill Leighton Jr, 2. Josh Krug, 3. Josh Leonard, 4. Zach Zeitner, 5. Brad Perdue, 6. Brandon Lewis, 7. Jack Snoberger

B-Feature #1: 1. Rece Vaught, 2. Jim Johnson, 3. Robert Osborne, 4. Jason Wallace, 5. Matt Snoberger, 6. Andy Claiborne, 7. Jack Snoberger

B-Feature #2: 1. Ben Sukup, 2. Brad Perdue, 3. Zach Zeitner, 4. Albert Sack, 5. Brandon Lewis, 6. Chase Osborne

A-Feature: 1. Corey Zeitner, 2. Andrew Kosiski, 3. Ben Schaller, 4. Curt Schroeder, 5. Tad Pospisil, 6. Kyle Berck, 7. Bill Leighton Jr, 8. Josh Leonard, 9. Josh Krug, 10. Jason O’Brien, 11. Ben Sukup, 12. Nick Deal, 13. Jim Johnson, 14. Brian Kosiski, 15. Rece Vaught, 16. Brad Perdue, 17. Zach Zeitner, 18. Paul Conrad, 19. Robbie Andersen, 20. Andy Claiborne


Contingency Awards:

Speedway Motors Heat Race #1: Corey Zeitner

Keyser Manufacturing Heat Race #2: Kyle Berck

Roth Racing Heat Race #3: Ben Schaller

Kosiski Auto Parts Heat Race #4: Bill Leighton Jr

Hoosier Tire Hard Charger: Ben Sukup

VP Fuels Top Qualifier: Kyle Berck

Dynamic Drivelines Hard Luck Award: Andy Claiborne

Sardeson Racing Worst Draw: Bill Leighton Jr

Speedway Motors Back-Up Award: Robbie Andersen

Keizer Wheels Last Man In: Brian Kosiski

Wehrs Machine A Feature Pole Sitter: Curt Schroeder

Predator Trailers B Feature King: Ben Sukup

Hooker Harness 5th Place: Tad Pospisil

Out Pace Products 7th Place: Bill Leighton Jr

Simpson Performance Products 8th Place: Josh Leonard

Braswell Carburetion 10th Place: Jason O’Brien

Brinn Transmission 12th Place: Nick Deal

Penske Top 3 Finishers: Corey Zeitner, Andrew Kosiski, Ben Schaller

Rod End Supply Lap Leaders: Curt Schroeder, Corey Zeitner


Top 10 in Series Standings following US 30 Speedway on July 4th:


# Driver Hometown



55D Nick Deal Walnut, Iowa 806
2 24 Bill Leighton Jr LaVista, Nebraska



14 Kyle Berck Marquette, Nebraska 800
4 98 Ben Schaller Omaha, Nebraska



19 Corey Zeitner Omaha, Nebraska 770
6 1 Josh Leonard Gibbon, Nebraska



53 Andrew Kosiski LaVista, Nebraska 732
8 15 Jason O’Brien Atlantic, Iowa



52 Brian Kosiski Omaha, Nebraska 694
10 25 Brad Perdue Council Bluffs, Iowa



Series Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Braswell Carburetion, Brinn Transmissions, Dynamic Drivelines, Helmet Head Design, Hooker Harness, Hoosier Tire, JE Pistons, Keizer Wheels, Keyser Manufacturing, Kosiski Auto Parts, Malvern Bank, My Race Pass, N&W Transfer, Out-Pace Products, Penske Racing Shocks, Performance Bodies, Predator Trailers, Real Wheels, Rod End Supply, Roth Racing, Sardeson Racing, Simpson Performance Products, Speedway Motors, Storm Solution Specialists, Swartz Chassis, VP Fuels, Wehrs Machine, and Zeitner and Sons Trucking.

Pre-Event Registration Is Now Open!Click Here
+ +