The ‘O’ Show

The ‘O’ Show

The third race in a six day stretch took the Malvern Bank SLMR Series to Stuart, Iowa on Wednesday, June 5th. 28 cars were in attendance for the Series’ debut at the 1/4-mile short track.

With no time trials the drivers took to the track for heat race action, Ben Schaller, Corey Zeitner, Curtis Glover, and Jason O’Brien found themselves picking up heat race wins. The two B-Features were swept by Iowa drivers, Jason Hahne and Darrel DeFrance.

The 25-lap main event was led to green by Jason O’Brien and Corey Zeitner. O’Brien got the early jump on the field but quickly had Bill Leighton Jr on his tail and giving challenge to the top spot while Corey Zeitner dropped to third. With O’Brien and Leighton firmly in control of the field and slowly pulling away Charlie McKenna, Andrew Kosiski, and Nick Deal battled hard for the final spot inside the top 5. Charlie McKenna would soon pull away from that battle and charge past Ben Schaller for the 4th spot.

The battle for the top spot heated up as O’Brien and Leighton Jr began to work lap traffic. O’Brien continued to show the way with Leighton doing all he could to figure out how to move past the 15, at one point doing so but losing the lead the next corner. With the 24 and 15 battling this allowed Corey Zeitner to close up on the front two. O’Brien put the lap cars of Paul Conrad and Brad Perdue between himself and Leighton allowing him to open a gap and fully set his sights on grabbing the checkered flag. Nick Deal dropped the 6th and 7th spots late in the race to Ben Schaller and Andrew Kosiski.

The race went straight through with no yellows and as the checkered flag waved it was Atlantic, Iowa’s Jason O’Brien going wire to wire and picking up his first win of the 2019 season. O’Brien was followed to the line by Leighton in 2nd, Corey Zeitner came home 3rd, Charlie McKenna in 4th, and Ben Schaller rounded out the top 5.



Speedway Motors Heat Race #1: 1. Ben Schaller, 2. Curt Schroeder, 3. Andrew Kosiski, 4. Tad Pospisil, 5. Darrel DeFrance, 6. Shawn Cooney, 7. Matt Snoberger

Keyser Manufacturing Heat Race #2: 1. Corey Zeitner, 2. Charlie McKenna, 3. Kyle Berck, 4. Brad Perdue, 5. Jason Hahne, 6. Tyler Smith, 7. Andy Claiborne

Roth Racing Heat Race #3: 1. Curtis Glover, 2. Bill Leighton Jr, 3. Nick Roberts, 4. Brian Kosiski, 5. Zach Zeitner, 6. Jason Wallace, 7. JC Wyman

Kosiski Auto Parts Heat Race #4: 1. Jason O’Brien, 2. Nick Deal, 3. Josh Leonard, 4. Todd Cooney, 5. Justin Kay, 6. Kale Kosiski, 7. Paul Conrad

B-Feature #1: 1. Jason Hahne, 2. Brad Perdue, 3. Zach Zeitner, 4. Jason Wallace, 5. JC Wyman, 6. Shawn Cooney, 7. Matt Snoberger

B-Feature #2: 1. Darrel DeFrance, 2. Justin Kay, 3. Brian Kosiski, 4. Kale Kosiski, 5. Paul Conrad, 6. Andy Claiborne, 7. Tyler Smith

A-Feature: 1. Jason O’Brien, 2. Bill Leighton Jr, 3. Corey Zeitner, 4. Charlie McKenna, 5. Ben Schaller, 6. Andrew Kosiski, 7. Nick Deal, 8. Kyle Berck, 9. Nick Roberts, 10. Jason Hahne, 11. Josh Leonard, 12. Curtis Glover, 13. Darrel DeFrance, 14. Brian Kosiski, 15. Curt Schroeder, 16. Brad Perdue, 17. Paul Conrad, 18. Todd Cooney, 19. Justin Kay, 20. Tad Pospisil


Contingency Awards:

Speedway Motors Heat Race #1: Ben Schaller

Keyser Manufacturing Heat Race #2: Corey Zeitner

Roth Racing Heat Race #3: Bill Leighton Jr

Kosiski Auto Parts Heat Race #4: Jason O’Brien

Hoosier Tire Hard Charger: Jason Hahne

VP Fuels Top Qualifier: Ben Schaller

Dynamic Drivelines Hard Luck Award: Tad Pospisil

Sardeson Racing Worst Draw: Paul Conrad

Speedway Motors Back-Up Award: Curt Schroeder

Keizer Wheels Last Man In: Tad Pospisil

Wehrs Machine A Feature Pole Sitter: Jason O’Brien

Predator Trailers B Feature King: Jason Hahne

Hooker Harness 5th Place: Ben Schaller

Out Pace Products 7th Place: Nick Deal

Simpson Performance Products 8th Place: Kyle Berck

Braswell Carburetion 10th Place: Jason Hahne

Brinn Transmission 12th Place: Josh Leonard

Penske Top 3 Finishers: Jason O’Brien, Bill Leighton Jr, Corey Zeitner

Rod End Supply Lap Leaders: Jason O’Brien



Top 10 in Series Standings following Stuart Speedway on June 5th:


# Driver Hometown


1 55D Nick Deal Walnut, Iowa


2 24 Bill Leighton Jr LaVista, Nebraska



14 Kyle Berck Marquette, Nebraska 616
4 98 Ben Schaller Omaha, Nebraska



1 Josh Leonard Gibbon, Nebraska 586
6 19 Corey Zeitner Omaha, Nebraska



53 Andrew Kosiski LaVista, Nebraska 552
8 15 Jason O’Brien Atlantic, Iowa



52 Brian Kosiski Omaha, Nebraska 540
10 25 Brad Perdue Council Bluffs, Iowa



Series Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Braswell Carburetion, Brinn Transmissions, Dynamic Drivelines, Helmet Head Design, Hooker Harness, Hoosier Tire, JE Pistons, Keizer Wheels, Keyser Manufacturing, Kosiski Auto Parts, Malvern Bank, My Race Pass, N&W Transfer, Out-Pace Products, Penske Racing Shocks, Performance Bodies, Predator Trailers, Real Wheels, Rod End Supply, Roth Racing, Sardeson Racing, Simpson Performance Products, Speedway Motors, Storm Solution Specialists, Swartz Chassis, VP Fuels, Wehrs Machine, and Zeitner and Sons Trucking.

Pre-Event Registration Is Now Open!Click Here
+ +