Taking Care Of Business

Taking Care Of Business

The 11th night of racing for the MBSLMR Series took the Series back to the Boone County Raceway for the first time since 2016. 35 cars were on hand for the midweek show, a field headlined by many Series regulars and many local drivers.

2017 Series Champion, Tad Pospisil opened up the night by posting overall quick time in time trials, throwing up a lap of 15.970 up atop the board. Kyle Berck paced group B with a time of 16.255. The heat races were won by Cory Dumpert, Ben Sukup, Rece Vaught, and Andrew Kosiski. Josh Leonard and JC Wyman scored the B-Feature wins.

Blair Nothdurft and Andrew Kosiski showed the way for the 25-lap main event. Nothdurft led the field into turn one but the yellow was quickly thrown after outside-pole sitter Andrew Kosiski spun in turn number 1. As the race resumed Tad Pospisil quickly dropped to the low side of the race track to steal the lead away from the 76 of Nothdurft. Pospisil led the opening two laps before the yellow was thrown yet again; this time for Troy Daly who had lost a driveshaft in turn 3.

Pospisil would bring the field back to green again, quickly jumping out to a lead. Nothdurft would lose the 2nd and 3rd spots to Kyle Berck and Nick Deal on the ensuing restart. While the top 3 began pulling away from the field Nothdurft would surrender two more spots, losing positions 4 and 5 to Bill Leighton Jr and Cory Dumpert. Dumpert, who started in the 10th spot moved up to the 4th position by lap 9 after getting by Bill Leighton.

Late in the going as the leaders were in lap traffic the top 5 had all gained ground on each other and were within a few car lengths of one another. On the white flag lap, Pospisil continued to show the way but things got interesting in turn 3 and 4 as Kyle Berck made one last effort to grab another checkered flag, his last corner dive came up short as Pospisil and his 04-machine carried the momentum off the high side to the checkered flag. This is Tad’s second win of the season, both of which he won after leading all 25 laps, Kyle Berck brought home 2nd place, Nick Deal a strong run in 3rd, Cory Dumpert in 4th, and Bill Leighton came home P5.



Qualifying Group A: 1. Tad Pospisil, 2. Blair Nothdurft, 3. Brian Kosiski, 4. Ben Sukup, 5. Zach Zentner, 6. Jason O’Brien, 7. Bill Leighton Jr, 8. Robert Osborne, 9. Cory Dumpert, 10. Jim Johnson, 11. Jason Wallace, 12. Zach Zeitner, 13. Matt Snoberger, 14. Alex Banks, 15. Bryan Molt, 16. Greg Krohn, 17. Mark Lueken, 18. Brad Perdue

Qualifying Group B: 1. Kyle Berck, 2. Nick Deal, 3. Ben Schaller, 4. Chase Osborne, 5. Josh Leonard, 6. Andrew Kosiski, 7. JC Wyman, 8. Nelson Vollbrecht, 9. Corey Zeitner, 10. Tyler Smith, 11. Rece Vaught, 12. Paul Conrad, 13. Troy Daly, 14. Chris Johnson, 15. Blair Kraus, 16. Dan Lueken, 17. Curt Schroeder

Speedway Motors Heat Race #1: 1. Cory Dumpert, 2. Bill Leighton Jr, 3. Tad Pospisil, 4. Brian Kosiski, 5. Zach Zentner, 6. Jason Wallace, 7. Matt Snoberger, 8. Bryan Molt, 9. Mark Lueken

Keyser Manufacturing Heat Race #2: 1. Ben Sukup, 2. Robert Osborne, 3. Blair Nothdurft, 4. Jim Johnson, 5. Zach Zeitner, 6. Jason O’Brien, 7. Brad Perdue, 8. Greg Krohn, 9. Alex Banks

Roth Racing Heat Race #3: 1. Rece Vaught, 2. Corey Zeitner, 3. Ben Schaller, 4. Kyle Berck, 5. JC Wyman, 6. Josh Leonard, 7. Troy Daly, 8. Blair Kraus, 9. Curt Schroeder

Kosiski Auto Parts Heat Race #4: 1. Andrew Kosiski, 2. Nick Deal, 3. Nelson Vollbrecht, 4. Chase Osborne, 5. Paul Conrad, 6. Chris Johnson, 7. Tyler Smith, 8. Dan Lueken

B-Feature #1: 1. Josh Leonard, 2. Jason O’Brien, 3. Nelson Vollbrecht, 4. Greg Krohn, 5. Bryan Molt, 6. Paul Conrad, 7. Brad Perdue, 8. Jason Wallace, 9. Chris Johnson, 10. Matt Snoberger, 11. Curt Schroeder

B-Feature #2: 1. JC Wyman, 2. Zach Zentner, 3. Jim Johnson, 4. Tyler Smith, 5. Zach Zeitner, 6. Blair Kraus, 7. Troy Daly, 8. Mark Lueken, 9. Dan Lueken, 10. Alex Banks

A-Feature: 1. Tad Pospisil, 2. Kyle Berck, 3. Nick Deal, 4. Cory Dumpert, 5. Bill Leighton Jr, 6. Blair Nothdurft, 7. Ben Schaller, 8. Ben Sukup, 9. Corey Zeitner, 10. Chase Osborne, 11. JC Wyman, 12. Jason O’Brien, 13. Josh Leonard, 14. Zach Zentner, 15. Mark Lueken, 16. Jim Johnson, 17. Andrew Kosiski, 18. Nelson Vollbrecht, 19. Rece Vaught, 20. Brian Kosiski, 21. Greg Krohn, 22. Tyler Smith, 23. Robert Osborne, 24. Troy Daly


Contingency Awards:

Speedway Motors Heat Race #1: Bill Leighton Jr

Keyser Manufacturing Heat Race #2: Ben Sukup

Roth Racing Heat Race #3: Rece Vaught

Kosiski Auto Parts Heat Race #4: Andrew Kosiski

Hoosier Tire Hard Charger: JC Wyman

VP Fuels Top Qualifier: Nick Deal

Dynamic Drivelines Hard Luck Award: Troy Daly

Sardeson Racing Worst Draw: Curt Schroeder

Speedway Motors Back-Up Award: Andrew Kosiski

Keizer Wheels Last Man In: Rece Vaught

Wehrs Machine A Feature Pole Sitter: Blair Nothdurft

Predator Trailers B Feature King: JC Wyman

Hooker Harness 5th Place: Bill Leighton Jr

Out Pace Products 7th Place: Ben Schaller

Simpson Performance Products 8th Place: Ben Sukup

Braswell Carburetion 10th Place: Corey Zeitner

Brinn Transmission 12th Place: Jason O’Brien

Penske Top 3 Finishers: Tad Pospisil, Kyle Berck, Nick Deal

Rod End Supply Lap Leaders: Tad Pospisil



Top 10 in Series Standings following Boone County Speedway on July 10th:


# Driver Hometown Points
1 14 Kyle Berck Marquette, Nebraska



55D Nick Deal Walnut, Iowa 986
3 24 Bill Leighton Jr LaVista, Nebraska



98 Ben Schaller Omaha, Nebraska 970
5 19 Corey Zeitner Omaha, Nebraska



1 Josh Leonard Gibbon, Nebraska 884
7 53 Andrew Kosiski LaVista, Nebraska



15 Jason O’Brien Atlantic, Iowa 876
9 52 Brian Kosiski Omaha, Nebraska



04 Tad Pospisil Norfolk, Nebraska



Series Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Braswell Carburetion, Brinn Transmissions, Dynamic Drivelines, Helmet Head Design, Hooker Harness, Hoosier Tire, JE Pistons, Keizer Wheels, Keyser Manufacturing, Kosiski Auto Parts, Malvern Bank, My Race Pass, N&W Transfer, Out-Pace Products, Penske Racing Shocks, Performance Bodies, Predator Trailers, Real Wheels, Rod End Supply, Roth Racing, Sardeson Racing, Simpson Performance Products, Speedway Motors, Storm Solution Specialists, Swartz Chassis, VP Fuels, Wehrs Machine, and Zeitner and Sons Trucking.

Register For Upcoming EventsClick Here
+ +