Rauen Wins Mobile Tech 22

Rauen Wins Mobile Tech 22

One of the most prestigious races on the Malvern Bank SLMR Series tour, the Mobile Tech 22 invitational race at the famed Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville, Iowa.

On a perfect night for racing the stout list of the invited 32 drivers and their teams had made their way to Knoxville for the $4,000 to-win, 22-lap special. The night got under way with time trials where Josh Leonard laid down quick time; Ryan Griffith 2nd, Tad Pospisil 3rd, Jason O’Brien 4th, and Allan Hopp in P5. The 3 heat races wins were scored by Farley, Iowa native, Jason Rauen, Harlan, Iowa’s Allan Hopp, and modified standout Ricky Thornton Jr.

Just before the A-Feature for the Malvern Bank Series, during the B-Feature of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series cars the rains came and halted the show. The track crews reworked the track and got it back in tune for the show to resume. The cars were allowed to hot lap before the racing action would get back under way. Allan Hopp caught a tough break during the hot lap session his motor expired, ending his night and forcing him to give up his 2nd place starting spot for the A-Feature.

Two MBSLMR regulars in Josh Leonard and Tad Pospisil led the field to green for the 22-lap showdown. Pospisil grabbed the lead early, looking to repeat his win from last year. Josh Leonard soon ran Pospisil down and drove by him on the bottom to take the lap 3 lead. Jason O’Brien brought out the first of two yellows after he spun down the backstretch on lap 4.

Leonard led the charge back to the green flag. On the restart, Jeff Aikey and Tad Pospisil exchanged position as did Chad Simpson and Jason Rauen. Aikey now up to P2, Simpson in P4. Shortly after Jason Rauen had closed back up to Simpson and quickly rolled by the outside to regain 4th. While Josh Leonard checked out Tad Pospisil and Jeff Aikey battled side by side for 2nd for a few laps, Jason Rauen soon joined the battle but the red flag would be waved as Jason Wallace had climbed the wall in turn 1 and rolled his number 13-machine. Wallace would be ok.

Leonard brought the field back to the green flag for a quick sprint to the checkered as the lap were winding down. Jason Rauen, who restarted 3rd, rocketed by both Leonard and Aikey on the restart to grab the top spot. Rauen then checked out as the battle was on for 2nd as Tyler Bruening and his number 16 Capital chassis had come to life in the late stages of the race. Bruening soon powered his way by Leonard and Aikey and now set his sights on the 98 of Rauen. Bruening ran out of laps to catch Rauen allowing Rauen to hold on and grab the win in the second annual Mobile Tech 22 at Knoxville. Bruening came home 2nd, Josh Leonard was the highest finishing MBSLMR regular in 3rd, Jeff Aikey finished 4th, and last years winner Tad Pospisil came home with a 5th place finish. The hard charger of the race was Josh Krug, Krug ran up from his 25th place starting spot to finish 10th. Chris Spieker also mounted a serious charge through the field after starting 30th, Spieker worked his way up to 15th during the 22-lap feature.



Qualifying Group A: 1. Josh Leonard, 2. Ryan Griffith, 3. Tad Pospisil, 4. Jason O’Brien, 5. Allan Hopp, 6. Tyler Bruening, 7. Jeff Aikey, 8. Jason Hahne, 9. Chad Simpson, 10. Scott Ward, 11. Zach Zeitner, 12. Corey Zeitner, 13. Jason Rauen, 14. Robbie Andersen, 15. Ricky Thornton Jr, 16. Curt Schroeder, 17. Andrew Kosiski, 18. Brad Perdue, 19. Brian Kosiski, 20. Kyle Berck, 21. Justin Kay, 22. JC Wyman, 23. Darrel DeFrance, 24. Andy Eckrich, 25. Jay Johnson, 26. Ben Schaller, 27. Jason Wallace, 28. Bill Leighton Jr, 29. Josh Krug, 30. Charlie McKenna, 31. Chris Spieker, 32. Paul Conrad

Speedway Motors Heat Race #1: 1. Jason Rauen, 2. Josh Leonard, 3. Jeff Aikey, 4. JC Wyman, 5. Curt Schroeder, 6. Brian Kosiski, 7. Jason O’Brien, 8. Scott Ward, 9. Bill Leighton Jr, 10. Jay Johnson, 11. Chris Spieker

Keyser Manufacturing Heat Race #2: 1. Allan Hopp, 2. Andrew Kosiski, 3. Kyle Berck, 4. Jason Hahne, 5. Ben Schaller, 6. Josh Krug, 7. Darrel DeFrance, 8. Paul Conrad, 9. Ryan Griffith, 10. Robbie Andersen, 11. Zach Zeitner

Roth Racing Heat Race #3: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr, 2. Tyler Bruening, 3. Tad Pospisil, 4. Chad Simpson, 5. Justin Kay, 6. Corey Zeitner, 7. Charlie McKenna, 8. Brad Perdue, 9. Jason Wallace, 10. Andy Eckrich

A-Feature: 1. Jason Rauen, 2. Tyler Bruening, 3. Josh Leonard, 4. Jeff Aikey, 5. Tad Pospisil, 6. Ricky Thornton Jr, 7. Chad Simpson, 8. Kyle Berck, 9. Scott Ward, 10. Josh Krug, 11. Andrew Kosiski, 12. Jason Hahne, 13. JC Wyman, 14. Corey Zeitner, 15. Chris Spieker, 16. Justin Kay, 17. Ryan Griffith, 18. Andy Eckrich, 19. Brian Kosiski, 20. Ben Schaller, 21. Charlie McKenna, 22. Bill Leighton Jr, 23. Darrel DeFrance, 24. Robbie Andersen, 25. Brad Perdue, 26. Zach Zeitner, 27. Paul Conrad, 28. Curt Schroeder, 29. Jason Wallace, 30. Jason O’Brien, 31. Allan Hopp, 32. Jay Johnson


Series Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Braswell Carburetion, Brinn Transmissions, Dynamic Drivelines, Helmet Head Design, Hooker Harness, Hoosier Tire, JE Pistons, Keizer Wheels, Keyser Manufacturing, Kosiski Auto Parts, Malvern Bank, My Race Pass, N&W Transfer, Out-Pace Products, Penske Racing Shocks, Performance Bodies, Predator Trailers, Real Wheels, Rod End Supply, Roth Racing, Sardeson Racing, Simpson Performance Products, Speedway Motors, Storm Solution Specialists, Swartz Chassis, VP Fuels, Wehrs Machine, and Zeitner and Sons Trucking.

Pre-Event Registration Is Now Open!Click Here
+ +