Firing On All Cylinders

Firing On All Cylinders

The third and final trip to the Adams County Speedway and Corning, Iowa was Saturday, August 3rd; the 16th round of battle for the stars and cars of the Malvern Bank SLMR Series. 26 cars were on hand for the $3,000 to-win show.

The night got under way with time trials and for the second straight show with time trials Kyle Berck led the way after posting a lap of 20.785 around the big half-mile. Jesse Sobbing, Josh Leonard, Brian Kosiski, and Tad Pospisil completed the top 5 in time trials. The heat races were won by Justin Zeitner, Jason O’Brien, and Paul Conrad. Brad Perdue won the only B-Main of the night.

Justin Zeitner and Tad Pospisil showed the way to the initial green flag. Pospisil ran out to the early lead and the 15 of O’Brien shot around Zeitner to grab second while Kyle Berck struggled out the gate and quickly dropped to 10th in the opening couple of laps. JC Wyman was another big mover early in the race, racing up to the 4th spot from his 8th place starting spot. While the lead cars began to string out the battle was on for the 8th spot between Bill Leighton Jr, Kyle Berck, and Andrew Kosiski. Those three continued to trade positions until the yellow flag waved on lap 10 for Brad Perdue.

Pospisil brought the field back to green and pulled his way out to another sizeable lead, proving he would be a serious contender for the win on this night. On the restart, Justin Zeitner got back around Jason O’Brien for the second spot and Brian Kosiski and Josh Leonard found themselves in a heated battle for the 6th spot before the second yellow waved on lap 13 for JC Wyman after he spun in turn 2 from his 4th place running position.

As the race resumed for the second time Pospisil continued to show the way, Jason O’Brien got back around the 62 of Zeitner for second. But the race would be brought back under the yellow flag condition on lap 15 after Corey Zeitner and Josh Most made contact sending Corey Zeitner spinning into the outstretch wall.

For the third time, Pospisil brought the field back to green and returned to the high side and began pulling away. Bill Leighton Jr had quietly worked his way up to the 5th spot from his 12th place starting spot. The driver on the move to this point of the race held true to his nickname, Chargin’ Charlie McKenna had charged up from his 22nd starting spot and was running 6th during this stretch of the race and looking for more. Meanwhile, Justin Zeitner and Jason O’Brien were waged in a heated battle for second trading clean slide jobs nearly every corner and putting on a great race for the many fans in attendance. The yellow flag would slow the field one last time on lap 21 after Josh Most had rolled to a stop in turn 3, under the yellow Andrew Kosiski retired from the race with a broken shock mount.

This set up a four-lap shootout to decide who would go home a winner. Pospisil continued to show the lead and this time he jumped out to a safe lead and walked his way to a cool $3,000 pay-day leading all 25 laps and scoring his 3rd MBSLMR Series win of the season and 17th of his career. Jason O’Brien outdueled Justin Zeitner for second, Bill Leighton brought home a fourth-place finish, and Kyle Berck collected another top 5, finishing P5. The hard-charger of the race was Ames, Iowa’s Charlie McKenna after coming out of the B-Main and charging from 22nd to finish 6th.



Qualifying Group A: 1. Kyle Berck, 2. Jesse Sobbing, 3. Josh Leonard, 4. Brian Kosiski, 5. Tad Pospisil, 6. JC Wyman, 7. Justin Zeitner, 8. Jason O’Brien, 9. Bill Leighton Jr, 10. Andrew Kosiski, 11. Corey Zeitner, 12. Ben Schaller, 13. Curt Schroeder, 14. Chris Spieker, 15. Paul Conrad, 16. Jeff Segebart, 17. Jason Wallace, 18. Paul Glendenning, 19. Josh Most, 20. Kale Kosiski, 21. Matt Snoberger, 22. Andy Claiborne, 23. Brad Perdue, 24. Max McKenna, 25. Zach Zeitner, 26. Charlie McKenna

Speedway Motors Heat Race #1: 1. Justin Zeitner, 2. Kyle Berck, 3. Brian Kosiski, 4. Andrew Kosiski, 5. Josh Most, 6. Zach Zeitner, 7. Jeff Segebart, 8. Andy Claiborne, 9. Curt Schroeder

Keyser Manufacturing Heat Race #2: 1. Jason O’Brien, 2. Jesse Sobbing, 3. Tad Pospisil, 4. Jason Wallace, 5. Corey Zeitner, 6. Brad Perdue, 7. Chris Spieker, 8. Kale Kosiski, 9. Charlie McKenna

Roth Racing Heat Race #3: 1. Paul Conrad, 2. Paul Glendenning, 3. Ben Schaller, 4. JC Wyman, 5. Josh Leonard, 6. Bill Leighton Jr, 7. Max McKenna, 8. Matt Snoberger

B-Feature #1: 1. Brad Perdue, 2. Curt Schroeder, 3. Zach Zeitner, 4. Charlie McKenna, 5. Matt Snoberger, 6. Kale Kosiski, 7. Andy Claiborne, 8. Max McKenna

A-Feature: 1. Tad Pospisil, 2. Jason O’Brien, 3. Justin Zeitner, 4. Bill Leighton Jr, 5. Kyle Berck, 6. Charlie McKenna, 7. Jesse Sobbing, 8. Josh Leonard, 9. Ben Schaller, 10. JC Wyman, 11. Brian Kosiski, 12. Paul Glendenning, 13. Chris Spieker, 14. Brad Perdue, 15. Kale Kosiski, 16, Curt Schroeder, 17. Matt Snoberger, 18. Jeff Segebart, 19. Max McKenna, 20. Andy Claiborne, 21. Andrew Kosiski, 22. Josh Most, 23. Corey Zeitner, 24. Zach Zeitner, 25. Jason Wallace, 26. Paul Conrad


Contingency Awards:

Speedway Motors Heat Race #1: Kyle Berck

Keyser Manufacturing Heat Race #2: Jason O’Brien

Roth Racing Heat Race #3: Paul Conrad

Kosiski Auto Parts Heat Race #4: –

Hoosier Tire Hard Charger: Kale Kosiski

VP Fuels Top Qualifier: Kyle Berck

Dynamic Drivelines Hard Luck Award: Paul Conrad

Sardeson Racing Worst Draw: Zach Zeitner

Speedway Motors Back-Up Award: Brian Kosiski

Keizer Wheels Last Man In: Jason Wallace

Wehrs Machine A Feature Pole Sitter: Tad Pospisil

Predator Trailers B Feature King: Brad Perdue

Hooker Harness 5th Place: Kyle Berck

Out Pace Products 7th Place: Josh Leonard

Simpson Performance Products 8th Place: Josh Leonard

Braswell Carburetion 10th Place: JC Wyman

Brinn Transmission 12th Place: Brian Kosiski

Penske Top 3 Finishers: Tad Pospisil, Jason O’Brien, Bill Leighton Jr

Rod End Supply Lap Leaders: Tad Pospisil



Top 10 in Series Standings following Adams County Speedway on August 3rd:


# Driver Hometown



14 Kyle Berck Marquette, Nebraska 1476
2 98 Ben Schaller Omaha, Nebraska


3 24 Bill Leighton Jr LaVista, Nebraska



1 Josh Leonard Gibbon, Nebraska 1344
5 15 Jason O’Brien Atlantic, Iowa



19 Corey Zeitner Omaha, Nebraska 1314
7 52 Brian Kosiski Omaha, Nebraska



53 Andrew Kosiski LaVista, Nebraska 1228
9 55D Nick Deal Walnut, Iowa


10 04 Tad Pospisil Norfolk, Nebraska



Series Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Braswell Carburetion, Brinn Transmissions, Dynamic Drivelines, Helmet Head Design, Hooker Harness, Hoosier Tire, JE Pistons, Keizer Wheels, Keyser Manufacturing, Kosiski Auto Parts, Malvern Bank, My Race Pass, N&W Transfer, Out-Pace Products, Penske Racing Shocks, Performance Bodies, Predator Trailers, Real Wheels, Rod End Supply, Roth Racing, Sardeson Racing, Simpson Performance Products, Speedway Motors, Storm Solution Specialists, Swartz Chassis, VP Fuels, Wehrs Machine, and Zeitner and Sons Trucking.

Pre-Event Registration Is Now Open!Click Here
+ +