Deal Stays Red Hot

Deal Stays Red Hot

Race number 6 of the Malvern Bank SLMR Series took the stars and cars of the Series to Norfolk, Nebraska to take on the quarter-mile known as the Off-Road Speedway. 33 cars were on hand for the $2,000 to-win event.

To get the night started Ben Schaller drove his number 98-machine to overall quick time, posting a 14.826, Tad Pospisil was 2nd, Nick Deal 3rd, Chase Osborne 4th, and Nate Beyenhof timed in 5th.

Bill Leighton Jr, Gary Brown Jr, Eric Vanosdall, and Nelson Vollbrecht were the four drivers able to pick up the heat race wins. The B-Features were won by Corey Zeitner and Chris Johnson.

Nate Beyenhof and Jason O’Brien brought the field to the green for the 25-lap showdown. O’Brien jumped to the early lead but quickly lost the lead to fourth-place starter Tad Pospisil after Tad split O’Brien and Beyenhof to lead lap 1. Series points leader Nick Deal followed Pospisil to the front as Deal quickly found himself riding in P2. While Pospisil and Deal tried to distance themselves from the field, Andrew Kosiski and Ben Schaller fought hard for the 5th position. Kosiski would eventually pull away from Schaller and move into 4th after grabbing the spot from Nate Beyenhof. The first of four yellows on the night was thrown on lap 9 as Ben Sukup had come to a stop with a left rear flat.

Pospisil led the field back to green flag but the yellow was quickly thrown after Pospisil, Deal, O’Brien, and Beyenhof went four-wide for the lead; O’Brien and Deal made contact resulting in the 15 of O’Brien going for a spin. Once the race resumed Pospisil and Deal slowly opened up a gap while Schaller and Kosiski battled for third. The third yellow would fly on lap 14 as Jason O’Brien had come to a stop in turn 2.

Pospisil led the field back to green one more time, this restart he would surrender the lead to Andrew Kosiski and Nick Deal. Kosiski led the way for a brief moment before Nick Deal worked his way past Kosiski. While Nick Deal checked out Pospisil lost another spot as Ben Schaller was able to get by for P3 on the track. The fourth and final yellow waved on lap 22 after pole sitter Nate Beyenhof went for a spin in turn 3. This set up a 3-lap shootout to see who could grab the checkered flag. Deal led the field back to green and never looked back setting sail and picking up his third career (points paying) Malvern Bank SLMR Series victory. Deal was followed to the line by Ben Schaller in second, Andrew Kosiski third, Gary Brown Jr with a strong run came home fourth, and Bill Leighton Jr rounded out the top 5.



Qualifying Group A: 1. Tad Pospisil, 2. Nick Deal, 3. Chase Osborne, 4. Nate Beyenhof, 5. Bill Leighton Jr, 6. Josh Krug, 7. Brian Kosiski, 8. Gary Brown Jr, 9. Corey Zeitner, 10. JR Coover, 11. Jason Wallace, 12. Robbie Andersen, 13. Paul Conrad, 14. Brad Perdue, 15. Jack Snoberger, 16. Mike Benson, 17. Andy Claiborne

Qualifying Group B: 1. Ben Schaller, 2. Kyle Berck, 3. Chris Johnson, 4. Andrew Kosiski, 5. Jason O’Brien, 6. Josh Leonard, 7. Ben Sukup, 8. Blair Nothdurft, 9. Tyler Smith, 10. Nelson Vollbrecht, 11. Eric Vanosdall, 12. Jim Johnson, 13. Doug Tomka, 14. Robert Osborne, 15. Kale Kosiski, 16. Curt Schroeder

Speedway Motors Heat Race #1: 1. Bill Leighton Jr, 2. Tad Pospisil, 3. Corey Zeitner, 4. Jason Wallace, 5. Chase Osborne, 6. Paul Conrad, 7. Brian Kosiski, 8. Andy Claiborne, 9. Jack Snoberger

Keyser Manufacturing Heat Race #2: 1. Gary Brown Jr, 2. Nate Beyenhof, 3. Nick Deal, 4. Robbie Andersen, 5. Josh Krug, 6. Brad Perdue, 7. Mike Benson, 8. JR Coover

Roth Racing Heat Race #3: 1. Eric Vanosdall, 2. Jason O’Brien, 3. Ben Schaller, 4. Ben Sukup, 5. Tyler Smith, 6. Doug Tomka, 7. Kale Kosiski, 8. Chris Johnson

Kosiski Auto Parts Heat Race #4: 1. Nelson Vollbrecht, 2. Blair Nothdurft, 3. Andrew Kosiski, 4. Jim Johnson, 5. Kyle Berck, 6. Josh Leonard, 7. Robert Osborne, 8. Curt Schroeder

B-Feature #1: 1. Corey Zeitner, 2. Josh Leonard, 3. Tyler Smith, 4. Brian Kosiski, 5. Brad Perdue, 6. Robbie Andersen, 7. Curt Schroder, 8. Kale Kosiski, 9. Andy Claiborne

B-Feature #2: 1. Chris Johnson, 2. Jim Johnson, 3. Josh Krug, 4. Jason Wallace, 5. Robert Osborne, 6. JR Coover, 7. Mike Benson, 8. Paul Conrad, 9. Jack Snoberger

A-Feature: 1. Nick Deal, 2. Ben Schaller, 3. Andrew Kosiski, 4. Gary Brown Jr, 5. Bill Leighton Jr, 6. Tad Pospisil, 7. Chris Johnson, 8. Kyle Berck, 9. Brad Perdue, 10. Corey Zeitner, 11. Eric Vanosdall, 12. Chase Osborne, 13. Brian Kosiski, 14. Blair Nothdurft, 15. Jim Johnson, 16. Josh Leonard, 17. Tyler Smith, 18. Nelson Vollbrecht, 19. Ben Sukup, 20. Josh Krug, 21. Nate Beyenhof, 22. Jason O’Brien


Contingency Awards:

Speedway Motors Heat Race #1: Bill Leighton Jr

Keyser Manufacturing Heat Race #2: Nick Deal

Roth Racing Heat Race #3: Eric Vanosdall

Kosiski Auto Parts Heat Race #4: Nelson Vollbrecht

Hoosier Tire Hard Charger: Brad Perdue

VP Fuels Top Qualifier: Tad Pospisil

Dynamic Drivelines Hard Luck Award: Jason O’Brien

Sardeson Racing Worst Draw: Andrew Kosiski

Speedway Motors Back-Up Award: Blair Nothdurft

Keizer Wheels Last Man In: Ben Sukup

Wehrs Machine A Feature Pole Sitter: Jason O’Brien

Predator Trailers B Feature King: Brad Perdue

Hooker Harness 5th Place: Bill Leighton Jr

Out Pace Products 7th Place: Tad Pospisil

Simpson Performance Products 8th Place: Kyle Berck

Braswell Carburetion 10th Place: Corey Zeitner

Brinn Transmission 12th Place: Eric Vanosdall

Penske Top 3 Finishers: Nick Deal, Ben Schaller, Andrew Kosiski

Rod End Supply Lap Leaders: Jason O’Brien, Tad Pospisil, Nick Deal



Top 10 in Series Standings following Off Road Speedway on June 1st:


# Driver Hometown Points
1 55D Nick Deal Walnut, Iowa



14 Kyle Berck Marquette, Nebraska 532
3 24 Bill Leighton Jr LaVista, Nebraska


4 98 Ben Schaller Omaha, Nebraska



1 Josh Leonard Gibbon, Nebraska 508
6 19 Corey Zeitner Omaha, Nebraska



52 Brian Kosiski Omaha, Nebraska 468
8 53 Andrew Kosiski LaVista, Nebraska



15 Jason O’Brien Atlantic, Iowa 452
10 25 Brad Perdue Council Bluffs, Iowa



Series Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Braswell Carburetion, Brinn Transmissions, Dynamic Drivelines, Helmet Head Design, Hooker Harness, Hoosier Tire, JE Pistons, Keizer Wheels, Keyser Manufacturing, Kosiski Auto Parts, Malvern Bank, My Race Pass, N&W Transfer, Out-Pace Products, Penske Racing Shocks, Performance Bodies, Predator Trailers, Real Wheels, Rod End Supply, Roth Racing, Sardeson Racing, Simpson Performance Products, Speedway Motors, Storm Solution Specialists, Swartz Chassis, VP Fuels, Wehrs Machine, and Zeitner and Sons Trucking.

Pre-Event Registration Is Now Open!Click Here
+ +